Elections will take place this year for seats in the Alabama Legislature, and voters in each district will have several candidates to choose from.

Qualifying closed last week, and in local districts, all incumbents seeking re-election will face opposition.

In the Alabama Senate, District 27 Sen. Tom Whatley will seek re-election and will face Democrat Nancy Bendinger.

District 27 includes parts of Lee, Tallapoosa and Russell counties. Whatley, an Auburn resident, has served in the Senate since 2010. Bendinger is an Auburn resident and realtor who is running to help the district and state reach its fullest potential, according to her Facebook page.

Senate District 13, which encompasses parts of Lee, Chambers, Randolph, Clay and Cleburne counties, will have an open seat as Sen. Gerald Dial will not seek re-election as he campaigns to be Alabama agriculture commissioner. Dial has served 10 terms in the Alabama Legislature, two in the House and eight in the Senate.

Four candidates will vie to replace Dial. Republican Randy Price, an Opelika resident and businessman, is seeking election. Price's campaign will focus on infrastructure, education and fiscal responsibility, according to his website.

Republicans Mike Sparks, director of the Alabama Department of Forensic Sciences, and Tim Sprayberry will face Price in the primary election this summer.

Sparks, a resident of Lineville, said he has experience working with legislators and will aim to make government more transparent and beneficial to the taxpayer. Sprayberry, a resident of Heflin, said "No New Taxes" is the cornerstone of his campaign. He also stands firm on the belief that life begins at conception and that no legislator should serve more than 12 years.

In the general election, Democrat Darrell Turner of Heflin will face off against the winner of the Republican primary for District 13. Turner sought the Senate seat in 2014 and ran on a platform of bringing transparency to state government.

In the House, Joe Lovvorn will face opposition for the District 79 seat. Lovvorn, an Auburn resident, is serving his first term; he was elected to fill the open seat after former Speaker Mike Hubbard was convicted on 12 felony ethics charges.

Democrat Mary Wynne Kling is running against Lovvorn. She is an Auburn resident and is running to ensure all residents' voices are heard and represented in Montgomery, according to her Facebook page.

District 79 includes parts of Auburn and Opelika.

In District 83, which includes parts of Auburn, Opelika and Phenix City, four Democrats and one Republican qualified to vie for the seat that was recently made vacant after the death of Rep. George Bandy.

Pat "Patsy" Jones, John Andrew Harris, Ronnie Reed and Jeremy Gray will face off in the Democratic primary this summer. Jones worked in education for 37 years and has served on the Opelika City Council since 1995. She was the first African-American woman to serve on the council.

Harris has served on the Lee County Commission since 1994. Harris previously sought election to the U.S. House to represent the 3rd Congressional District, but was defeated by Mike Rogers in 2012.

Reed serves on the Russell County Commission. Reed campaigned against Bandy in 2014 and ran on a platform of jobs and the creation of programs for seniors and youth.

Gray is an Opelika resident and founder of a local nonprofit, Elevate Your Grind.

Republican Michael J. Holden will face the Democratic primary winner in the general election for House District 83 in November.

For House District 38, which includes parts of Opelika, Phenix City, Smiths Station, Valley and Lanett, three Republicans and one Democrat qualified to seek election.

Republican Todd Rauch,an Opelika resident who enlisted in the Army in 2001, hopes to use his campaign to reduce veteran suicide rates. Republican Debbie Hamby Wood, Valley resident, serves as a commissioner in Chambers County. Bryan A. Murphy will also run in the Republican primary.

Democrat Brian McGee, Valley resident, will face the winner of the Republican primary in the general election for District 38. McGee sought election to the U.S. Senate last year, but ended his campaign to support Doug Jones.

Last of the local districts that include parts of Lee County is House District 82. Three Democrats will face off for this seat — Johnny Ford, Terrence K. Johnson and incumbent Pebblin Warren, all of whom are Tuskegee residents.

Ford was mayor of Tuskegee for 24 years. Johnson said he is seeking election with a focus on health care, jobs and education, according to his Facebook page. Warren has served in the Alabama House since 2005. She has previously said she would be an advocate for small business owners, farmers and law enforcement.

Primary elections will be held on June 5, with any necessary primary run-offs following on July 17. The general election will take place Nov. 6.

The general election will also include U.S. House and Senate elections. Locally, 3rd Congressional District incumbent Mike Rogers will face Democratic opposition in Miss American 2013 Mallory Hagan. Hagan will face Adia McClellan Winfrey in the Democratic primary election for the district.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.